COTT Board

COTT's Board is made up of outstanding individuals who contribute to the development and growth of our organisation.

The COTT Board of Directors is controlled by its members consisting of Writer and Publishers members elected from and by the membership at an annual members meeting every three years. Honorary and Consultant Directors may be nominated by the Board, once convened.

Ronald Forde

Bio Profile

Mr. John Arnold

Bio Profile

Mr. Kenwrick Joseph

Mr. Stephen John (Jr)

Carotte Music Publishing
(Company Representative, Mr. Ottmore Mieres)

Ms. Josanne Leonard

Colin Lucas


John Ryan Romany serves as the President of COTT’s Board of Directors. He founded the publishing company Worldbeat Studios in Tunapuna and has worked with several artistes including Ajala, Chris Garcia, Denise Belfon, David Rudder, M'ba, Kurt Allen, Marcia Miranda, Byron Lee, Manchild, and Nisha Bissembhar. He was a guitarist for several local leading bands - Shandileer, Sound Revolution, Taxi, 3 Veni and Melobugs - as well as toured with top international artistes including Percy Sledge, Luther Vandross and Roberta Flack.

Mr. Romany is a teacher with the San Juan Secondary School and is the holder of a certification in Human Resource Management among others. At present, he is in pursuit of his Masters of Business Administration with the Heriot Watt University.

On his appointment, past president Mr. Lutalo Masimba congratulated Mr. Romany for embracing the opportunity to lead an organisation as COTT. “I am really excited for the organisation because there is a new person at the helm that augurs well for the organisation – I will be there to give my fullest support in this transition.”

Lutalo Masimba, known as Brother Resistance, is one of Trinidad and Tobago's celebrated Rapso performers. He has served on COTT’s board since 2002 and at present, is the organisation’s Vice President.

Mr. Masimba earned his Bachelor's degree with honors in Economics and History from the University of the West Indies and is described as a poet who successfully challenged the musical and literary status quo of the Caribbean. He is considered to have spearheaded the Rapso movement born over thirty years ago with the late Lancelot Layne.

Masimba is credited for his work as one of the members of the PRS Working Group who helped organised COTT and is President of the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation as of June 2010.

Diana Derrick came to the world of collective administration, from a background of banking, debt collection and credit control.

Diana commenced her association with ‘performing rights’ in 1980 when the Performing Right Society appointed her as its Agent in Trinidad and Tobago. In 1984 Diana led the movement to establish a national collecting society in Trinidad, selected its name – COTT – and became its first Administrator. While managing COTT, she became involved in many other activities taking a leading role in producing the first ever National Song Festival and the first ever National Awards for Excellence in the Arts, assisting in the staging of fund raising concerts for needy composers and sitting on National Carnival Commission Committees.

At the end of 1988 Diana moved to the U.K. returning to the employment of PRS where she held roles in Licensing and International matters rising from a Regional Licensing Manager to the top management position of Director of International.

Following her retirement, Diana served as a PRS Consultant for a further 4 years managing PRS Overseas Territories and supervising the operations of fledging societies in the Caribbean, Africa and the Far East. She assisted them, among other issues, in the areas of copyright protection, copyright law reform, education, training, back-office functions and licensee negotiations.

Currently Diana is the only ever Honorary Director of COTT and serves as a Consultant Director to the Boards of the Trinidad and Tobago Reprographic Rights Organisation (TTRRO) and the Eastern Caribbean Collective Organisation for Music Rights Inc. (ECCO).


    COTT Congratulates Winsford 'Joker' DeVine & Andrew 'Lord Superior' Marcano

    The Copyright Music Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) congratulates Andrew ‘Lord Superior’ Marcano, Honorary Doctor of Letters (DLitt) COTT Member for 32 years and Winsford ‘Joker’ DeVine, Honorary Doctor of Letters (DLitt) COTT Member for 22 years on receiving Honorary Degrees for their priceless contributions to Music and the Arts.

Connect With Us

  • Find us on Facebook
  • Talk to us on Twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS